Blogger news

AT Perry voted for preseason All-ACC team

The annual ACC Media pre-season awards were unveiled this week, and redshirt junior AT Perry was Wake Forest’s only selection with 111 total votes.

Preseason awards are primarily a vote on a player’s performance over the previous season, and Perry had arguably the best season of any Wake Forest receiver ever in 2021. his breakout season, Perry set a program record with 15 touchdowns (5th most in ACC history) and came just 37 yards from setting the program’s receiving yards record with 1 293 yards. He was also a 1st team All-ACC and was a semi-finalist for the Biletnikoff Award, which is given to the best receiver in all of college football. He finished the season with 10 receiving, 127 yards, 1 TD performance in the Gator Bowl to help the Deacs to 11 wins for the second time in school history.

While Perry was the only Wake Forest player selected to the All-ACC preseason squad, QB Sam Hartman finished in second place for the vote for preseason player of the year with 30 total votes. . He also had a hell of a 2021 season, finishing with over 4,200 passing yards and 50 total touchdowns. You’ve probably heard this before, but Hartman is one of only 3 ACC quarterbacks to finish a season with 50 or more total touchdowns, alongside Deshaun Watson and Lamar Jackson.

While it would have been great to have more players on the roster, the All-ACC preseason team really isn’t that big and doesn’t impact the season. Keep in mind that every player who received a vote for Player of the Year at the end of the 2021 season got exactly 0 votes in the pre-season poll. You can check out the full All-ACC preseason roster below.

Go deacons!


QB Devin Leary, North Carolina State (56)

RB Sean Tucker, Syracuse (125)

RB Will Shipley, Clemson (112)

WR Josh Downs, NC (128)

WR AT Perry, Wake Forest (111)

WR Zay Flowers, Boston College (104)

TE Will Mallory, Miami (69)

A.P. Keytaon Thompson, Virginia (70)

OT Jordan McFadden, Clemson (127)

OT Zion Nelson, Miami (82)

OG Caleb Chandler, Louisville (104)

OG Christian Mahogany, Boston College (67)

C Grant Gibson, NC State (90)


BY Myles Murphy, Clemson (120)

FROM Habacuc Baldonado, Pitt (54)

DT Bryan Bresee, Clemson (116)

DT Calijah Kancey, Pitt (62)

LB Drake Thomas, NC State (92)

LB Trenton Simpson, Clemson (82)

LB Payton Wilson, NC State (60)

CB Kei’Trel Clark, Louisville (70)

CB Josh DeBerry, Boston College (65)

S Jammie Robinson, Florida State (93)

S Tanner Ingle, NC State (63)

Special teams

PK BT Potter, Clemson (99)

P Lou Hedley, Miami (101)

SP Josh Downs, NC (57)

Pre-Season Player of the Year

1. Devin Leary, QB, NC State (40)

2. Sam Hartman, QB, Wake Forest (30)

3. Tyler Van Dyke, QB, Miami (21)

4. Bryan Breese, TD, Clemson (14)

4-t. Brennan Armstrong, QB, Virginia (14)

6-t. Malik Cunningham, QB, Louisville (12)

6-t. Josh Downs, WR, NC (12)

8. Sean Tucker, RB, Syracuse (11)

9. Myles Murphy, DT, Clemson (5)

10. Trenton Simpson, LB, Clemson (3)

11. Jammie Robinson, S, Florida State (2)