Blogger news

Wake Forest Basketball: Conference Schedule Released

The conference portion of Wake Forest’s 2022-23 basketball season has been released.

As always, the Deacs will face Duke and NC State home and away, and this season Wake Forest will also face Boston College, Clemson, UNC and Notre Dame home and away.

As the font continues to be way too small on these calendar releases, I’m going to run through the calendar below. Personally, I don’t quite understand why the actual calendar on the calendar post chart is reduced to one-third of the entire image, but I digress.

ACC Schedule 2022-23

Friday, December 2: @Clemson

Tuesday, December 20: Duke

Saturday, December 31: Virginia Tech

Wednesday, January 4: @ North Carolina

Saturday January 7: @ Louisville

Wednesday, January 11: State of Florida

Saturday January 14: @ Boston College

Tuesday, January 17: Clemson

Saturday January 21: Virginia

Wednesday, January 25: @Pitt

Saturday, January 28: NC State

Tuesday, January 31: @ Duke

Saturday, February 4: @ Notre Dame

Tuesday, February 7: North Carolina

Saturday, February 11: Georgia Tech

Saturday, February 18: @ Miami

Wednesday, Feb. 22: @ NC State

Saturday February 25: Notre Dame

Tuesday, February 28: Boston College

Saturday March 4: @ Syracuse

Home games: Duke, VT, FSU, Clemson, UVA, NC State, UNC, GT, ND, BC

Away games: Clemson, UNC, Louisville, BC, Pitt, Duke, ND, Miami, NC State, Syracuse

At a glance, it’s a pretty even schedule — the Deacs never have more than two home or road games in a row. Two ACC home games including one against Duke over the Christmas break are unfortunate, but not uncommon for Wake. Obviously, we don’t know for sure yet which teams will be good this season, but it doesn’t look like there are a lot of really tough moments in this schedule. If I had to guess, I’d say the toughest stretch would be Jan. 4-11 with @UNC, @Louisville, and FSU at home, and even that pretty much depends on how the Cards and Noles bounce back this season.

Hopefully the Deacs can build on their success from last season and finally return to the NCAA Tournament.

Go deacons!